Ahousaht Land Use Vision

The ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Ḥaw̓iiḥ have led the ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Land Use Visioning, as it is their traditional role to steward the haḥuułii. The ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Ḥaw̓iiḥ have worked collaboratively with the ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Chief and Council, and the ʕaḥuusʔatḥ community at large to develop his vision. The intent for all land use designations is to promote the long term stewardship of the haḥuułii, and to provide lasting social and economic benefits for the ʕaḥuusʔatḥ musčim. Specifically, these designations are intended to protect ʕaḥuusʔatḥ cultural and heritage resources, maintain and enhance the ʕaḥuusʔatḥ way of life, protect and maintain biological diversity and natural environments, and provide community development opportunities for both economic and social well being.

The ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Land Use Vision (LUV) divides the haḥuułii into marine/intertidal and terrestrial areas. The marine/intertidal realm is divided into the Taqwiiʔak, Muułšiƛ, and Hiiš sap̓at.

Taqwiiʔak is the marine and foreshore management designation. These areas are identified for their abundant food fish and intertidal resources and historic access by ʕaḥuusʔatḥ musčim. The management intent for ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Taqwii?ak areas is to protect, conserve and manage marine and inter-tidal resources to provide for sustained and abundant ʕaḥuusʔatḥ community food fish harvesting, including shellfish.

Muułšiƛ are designated as the shoreline and island management areas. Muułšiƛ are sensitive ecosystems with high biodiversity and importance to ʕaḥuusʔatḥ as food reservoirs. The boundaries extend out to a cast length beyond the low water mark. The management intent for The management intent for Muułšiƛ areas is to protect and conserve sensitive marine, terrestrial and intertidal resources and continued opportunities for food harvesting by ʕaḥuusʔatḥ musčim. Conservation of resources and continued food harvesting by ʕaḥuusʔatḥ musčim will take precedence over all other uses.

Hiiš sap̓at are the ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Marine Harvest Bays. These bays are geographically distinct ocean embayments that support both traditional food gathering and spiritual communing. These areas need proactive management, and in some instances, well-planned restoration activities and programs.

The ʕaḥuusʔatḥ terrestrial land use designations are divided into Maʔas, Łaašłaaša uuḥw̓ał hitaqƛas, Wiklakʷiiḥ, and Iistatukʷaƛ hitaḥtaʔus areas.

Maʔas areas are areas with existing community settlement or are suitable for community residential or economic development purposes. The management intent for Maʔas areas is to enhance ʕaḥuusʔatḥ community economic development and social infrastructure for the benefit of ʕaḥuusʔatḥ musčim. Uses could include but are not limited to: community amenities, housing, institutional development, commercial development, tourism and hospitality.

Łaašłaaša uuḥw̓ał hitaqƛas are forested areas suitable for commercial forest restoration, enhancement and development by ʕaḥuusʔatḥ. The management intent for Łaašłaaša uuḥw̓ał hitaqƛas areas is to manage the full range of forest resources (timber and non-timber) to generate long-term social and economic benefits and jobs for ʕaḥuusʔatḥ musčim. Management will strive to achieve a balance of forest restoration, silvicultural enhancement, and timber and non-timber harvesting, within a viable forest operation that emphasizes ʕaḥuusʔatḥ and local employment.

Wiklakʷiiḥ areas are ʕaḥuusʔatḥ protected areas set aside to conserve biological diversity, natural landscapes and wilderness, and to provide for ʕaḥuusʔatḥ continued spiritual, cultural and sustenance use. The management intent for ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Wiklakʷiiḥ areas is to protect and restore natural conditions free of industrial use, to conserve biological diversity and natural conditions and support a range of ʕaḥuusʔatḥ spiritual, cultural and sustenance uses, as well as other compatible non-industrial uses. Conservation of biological diversity and ʕaḥuusʔatḥ sustenance, cultural and spiritual use will take precedence over other uses in Cultural and Natural Areas.

Iistatukʷaƛ hitaḥtaʔus areas are landscape-scale ʕaḥuusʔatḥ protected reserves, set aside to conserve biological diversity and natural landscapes, and to provide for ʕaḥuusʔatḥ continued spiritual, cultural and sustenance use. A primary purpose of these reserves is to protect streams, rivers, and lakes throughout ʕaḥuusʔatḥ haḥuułii. ʕaḥuusʔatḥ Iistatukʷaƛ hitaḥtaʔus Areas will be managed consistent with the management direction for watershed integrity and biological integrity reserves from the Clayoqout Sound Watershed Plans.

Additional Resources

Iisaakstał designations

Press Release

Land Use Vision Map

Sign up for our newsletter